Safety Divisions

Under the supervision of the Chief Safety Officer, there are five operational units responsible for various aspects of public safety:


University Police provide services 24/7/365. The division is commissioned by the state of Utah and includes sworn officers who are POST-certified. The division includes a patrol unit that responds to incidents on the U campus, a K9 unit, a detective division, a bike squad, a special events team, and a community outreach program.

Learn More


Campus Security provides support 24/7/365 and serves the community by monitoring buildings, providing courtesy escorts and motorist assists, and offering educational trainings. The Campus Security director is also responsible for overseeing and coordinating the department’s accreditation and compliance efforts.
Learn More


Community Services is a new division created in 2020. While this division is currently being built, it will focus on supporting victims of all crimes and will employ social workers and other professionals who can provide crisis support. The Community Services director also supports the university’s behavioral intervention efforts and will serve on the Threat Assessment Team once it is established.


Emergency Management aims to increase the university’s capabilities to respond to the hazards that threaten the campus while preventing or reducing the impact on the community. The division is expanding to oversee an emergency communications center and a travel safety unit.
Learn More


U Health Security supports the University of Utah Hospitals and clinics 24/7/365 and provides training to clinical staff, as well as students who are preparing to work in the medical field.
Learn More